“The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.” – H.L. Mencken

This is a long article, but well worth reading, and checking the statements made with the graphs provided. So many people complaining they don’t know what’s real and what’s fake news anymore. Well, here’s some real news that says it, and shows it, like it really is. Enjoy… or not.

1EarthUnited

Source:  https://www.theburningplatform.com/2017/03/07/what-the-hell-is-going-on/

“The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.” –  H.L. Mencken

 “The older I get the less I listen to what people say and the more I look at what they do.”Andrew Carnegie

I’m 53 years old. The older I get the less sure I am about things I was sure about when I was 25 years old. I believed stocks for the long run was an unquestioned truth. I believed our economy was based on free market capitalism. I believed stock prices were based upon profits and cash flows. I believed a home was a place to live – not an investment. I believed the Catholic Church was run by good men doing good things. I believed journalists and the media were watchdogs working on behalf of the public. I believed our military was protecting our…

View original post 2,527 more words

8 thoughts on ““The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.” – H.L. Mencken

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for the comment. I think it depends on how we’re brought up, first, then on how we go about living our life. If selfishly, they arrogance and entitlement will be the end result as you correctly point out. If selflessly, then enlightenment in the wake of self-sacrifice and disillusionment on what the “Matrix” offers. Selflessness, whether demonstrated at home or learned later, leads to compassion which in turn develops empathy. So anyway, I only made your comment longer, didn’t add anything substantive to it. Thanks again for commenting!

      Reply
      1. bethanyk

        LOL you didn’t just make it longer, you helped to clarify the deeper meaning of what I was saying. I’d like to think I was mostly enlightened, not from my upbringing, but from what I have chosen on my own. But I know that is not completely true. I know that my anger holds me back from true compassion towards all. But I never allowed myself to be angry . I am a constant work in progress!but at least I am trying.

      2. Sha'Tara Post author

        A work in progress… for those of us who care about making ourselves into less selfish, more compassionate people, a work in progress is all we’ll ever be, probably more so with each passing day. But what a challenge!

  1. Bélanger Robinson

    I’m overwhelmed, mentally exhausted, and slightly depressed. The same thing happened to me when I finished my last degree only to realize that there are no solid answers…just more questions and more faulty ways of trying to “obtain” an answer we can call a “fact.” Remember when 51 entities controlled the news? No one believed we had enough watchdogs at that time. Now six conglomerates all beholden to stakeholders. My, oh, my.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for commenting. I didn’t intend to add to anyone’s angst, certainly, but we need to see “stuff” from different angles, and when someone takes the trouble to back up their claims with what appear to be believable statistics, to me that’s worth paying attention to. Now, from another blog with similar themes as 1Earth, Sentinel Blog, I read that in February US businesses have added – yes, that’s ADDED – 298,000 jobs into the economy. The prediction had been for 199,000. There’s no way to reconcile one set of stats with another set, so someone’s got to be exaggerating or outright lying. I just finished reading several blogs and articles all claiming that jobs are history due to robotics automation and massive bankruptcies, particularly in the “brick and mortar” mall stores. Maybe, just maybe, we’re living a farce and we’ll wake up tomorrow morning and it’ll be, (for me) let’s say, 1964. 18 years young and the world my oyster… What would be your favourite time to wake up in? Speaking of time shifting, have you seen the movie Midnight in Paris? Great fun romp into romanticized past eras.

      Reply
      1. Bélanger Robinson

        I haven’t seen that one. I’ll have to try to find access to it. I truly enjoy film and the respite they provide. I’ll have to give some thought to the time period question. I was a child in the 70s & the innocence of that time was nice, but that time would be absent all of the great things that have happened since then (such as my family). Perhaps I’m not too adventurous and I am relatively happy with today, in spite of all the chaos. Fancy that! I believe I just realized that I’m satisfied with life. However, a brief visit back in time to see my dad would be awesome, but I would still need to return to today. He visits me in dreams, so I do visit with him from time to time. Those dreams help to renew my spirit. Great question! And I don’t feel nearly as depressed now! 😊

Leave a Reply

