Life Exists at the Sufferance of Darkness

[poem by  ~burning woman~  by Sha’Tara]

I heard the music in the darkness
Or it could have been the night
Low and ponderous, it came in waves
With which the ocean of time washed
Glistening shores, but not of healthy light
And I thought, I thought, I need to think
About good things, nice, kind, soft things
I tried, I really tried to think upon such things
But the music changed into angry noise
Waves of it thundering against the shore
Loosening rocks, pulling them down
Where they can never see the light again

I cried for the rocks enslaved into darkness
As I stood between the remaining ones
And the black waves thundering forward
I screamed a warning to the rocks
Hold on!  Save yourselves from death!

But you see they were rocks, only rocks
And they could not listen even if they heard
The last of the rocks were taken then
Clattering helpless past my prostrate form
I could but watch them tumbling down
Into everlasting darkness, so it seemed
I learned thus that thinking good thoughts
Really changes nothing, nothing at all
I learned it is wiser to think all thoughts
The good, the bad, the indifferent
To read what the mind writes between them

That’s when I discovered the truth of life
That life precedes death, and death, life
That life exists at the sufferance of darkness
That darkness is the prime mover, the arbiter
Of all that lives, all that was, all that will be

Beware of your own great realization
All ye worshipers of what ye call light

32 thoughts on “Life Exists at the Sufferance of Darkness

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      That comes as little surprise, as much as I love the sun. I am innately aware that “light” is only a result of conflict within darkness, friction and conflagration, for what is a sun but a ball of fire with a limited lifespan? Darkness is the first ruler, the norm in the universe and I sense, beyond that. If we remembered ourselves as mind beings we would not be light creatures. In fact, being light creatures ties us to the finiteness of light and makes us finite in our thinking and our “performance.” Darkness and infinity go hand in hand. This could be an essay, maybe even a dissertation… but not today… too tired. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Actually it began as a “dark” thought, then I allowed it to evolve to its logical conclusion. If we go into space, away from the little balls of fire of stars or nebulae, the “ruling” event is darkness. Everything comes from darkness and only in light does chaos manifest. Light is ignition from friction between events resulting in localized burns, or conflagrations – suns, stars. If darkness and the absolute cold of deep space did not control these conflagrations the whole universe would burn itself to nothing. What my mind saw as I was writing the poem was my programming set to support light and fear darkness. Then in my mind I saw that darkness rules, before and after. Then I saw the “rightness” of it, that life does indeed proceed from darkness. All the great gods of man were gods of lightning, or light. Interestingly but not surprisingly they are all massive failures. We went after chimeras, worshiped fire wisps, idols, because they seemed to give light, or claimed to be of the light, and because in our bodies, or as physical entities we were programmed to seek the sun for our survival. That this was a control feature within our design we somehow failed to realize. In our mind state we are quite well adapted to the deepest darkness of infinity. I like the sun but would never accept a state of being where I was a prisoner of the tiny space and bit of time where/when the light of the sun makes my life possible. The poem, off the cuff and written while I was eating lunch, was a reminder.

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for your comment. Please see my reply to poeturja for an expanded explanation of the poem’s meaning. Also, I found several of your comments in Akismet spam folder. I hope that I actually retrieved them and when time permits I will respond. Akismet is Word Press’ own version of “homeland security” it seems and a lot of bloggers are super annoyed at this unwanted and unwarranted interference. I don’t know why they’re so concerned about spam, I can delete my own emails, thank you very much WP, you shmucks!

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thank you Ann. Some results of trying to penetrate those things whose processes we have yet to discover and understand.

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      It’s OK, sweet, everyone needs a break. (Translator: E ‘OK, dolce, tutti hanno bisogno di una pausa.) Ciao.

      Reply
  1. franklparker

    Dark thoughts, beautifully expressed, as always. As the perpetual optimist, I have to disagree with your thesis, however. Surely darkness = nothingness. Light = knowledge, love and life.
    I won’t say ‘God bless’ because I know neither of us believes in God. But what other way is there to express that thought?

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for your comment Frank. You’d be perhaps surprised to know that I know God exists though I don’t believe in “him” – just as I know Trump exists and I don’t believe in him either. It’s how I’ve been trained to reason things. Thus, about darkness, doesn’t logic and observation tell us that darkness is the normal state of things; that “light” is always some artificial effect of chaotic conditions within darkness: friction, fire, burning, consuming? In the depths of space you travel through darkness with occasional lighted areas, all caused by finite conditions? When you look into the night sky you see pin-pricks of light – burning suns in various stages of termination – and darkness. To a physical Earthian the “light” of the sun is essential to survival. Thus light becomes all important. But a mind being accepts reality as it finds it and works with it. Darkness as “evil” or “nothingness” as you say, is perception. The greatest problem with putting light as “good” and darkness as “evil” or empty is perpetuating the religious myth of separation between forces of good and evil. As long as that myth exists, neither justice nor balance will be found here. The people of earth have been deceived for millennia about the reality of their universe, and their cosmos.

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Quote: “even the dark contains light.” Indeed! If my observations are accurate, then we have to realize that “light” emanates from the darkness. Perhaps for light-sensitive physical beings like Earthians the concept of “balance” is important, living as we are in a totally dysfunctional and unbalanced environment, and light must be put forward as of first importance, as that which “conquers” darkness – a very deep religiously programmed belief. (Jn. 1:5 The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood [Or, the darkness has not overcome] it.) implying that endless struggle between the forces of “good” and “evil” which keeps mankind in a stew of violence. If the sun’s light for whatever reason was to fail today, would we die… or would we be transformed inasmuch as we accept a changed condition?

      Reply
  2. Woebegone but Hopeful

    Powerful words evocatively crafted Sha’Tara. My perception differs, but hey! Must stand up and salute the majesty of the imagery.
    Keep the art flowing.
    All the best.
    Roger

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for the encouraging comment, Roger. Having been raised Catholic, I think it safe to say, I know where you’re coming from… 🙂 One can’t be swayed by every wind of doctrine, hey?

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      For this reality, you got it… and what do most people do when they want those intimate moments, even in dance? Turn the lights down, or even completely out and if possible, go out on a deck or a terrace under the stars and hold each other. Why then are people so afraid of the dark? rhetorical question, not begging for an answer!

      Reply
  3. Bill

    Hi there! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward
    this article to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

