Children received 1.7MILLION emergency meals from food banks in the six months : Daily Mirror.

To reblog or not to reblog… well, this needs exposing. This is about England, or Britain… one of the richest countries in the world and a country that can’t wait to sink its tax money into weaponry to kill people in the Middle East for the Washington/Wall Street cabal. I’m going to use this comment to say this: how can anybody with two brain cells to rub together claim they live in a democracy when their leadership has gone totally rogue and is not accountable to those it steals billions of “tax” money from? How can intelligent people even tolerate such a state or affairs? Where’s Charles Dickens to write another story about the poor of the military empire?

11 thoughts on “Children received 1.7MILLION emergency meals from food banks in the six months : Daily Mirror.

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      I keep wondering, if rich countries which always have billions to spend on armaments and war activities treat their own poor this way, and if such countries are firmly believed to be democracies, i.e., government of the people, by the people, for the people, what does that say of such people, and humanity in general? The reason I don’t vote is I can’t share responsibility for a government “of the people” with those same people who vote then let bureaucrats and opportunists make all the rules and keep on re-electing them even when it becomes obvious the system is rigged and doesn’t work. Democracy, for me, means equal opportunity for all and when that isn’t the case, I conclude that the system isn’t a democracy but a sham. Now you take these volunteers who do such amazing work, does “the government” recognize them, i.e, exempt them from paying taxes since they are doing work which the government pays itself to do with tax money and doesn’t do? (short rant!)

      Reply
      1. Woebegone but Hopeful

        Good rant.
        I vote on the old British traditional folk system..to stop or get the ‘Other Lot’ out.
        In the UK all governments make a point of paying tribute to volunteers, saying this is what makes the UK great and so forth, with a not so subtle sub-text that if it wasn’t for them encouraging volunteers there would be none.
        I don’t usually argee with them, but there are times when I can kind of see the point of the Anarchists’ arguments.
        Still although democracy as we have it is bad there are worse alternatives in this world; which are supported by democracies just to ensure that The Democracies can hang onto their own comfortable states.
        Sometimes my head spins.

      2. Sha'Tara Post author

        I think that, following the US protest vote which tossed a whole bunch of well-meaning people from the frying pan into the fire, I need to clarify for myself what it means to live in a democracy. I’m going to begin by defining what a democracy is “supposed to be” then look at current examples of such and go from there. Should be interesting. I’m greatly confused on the fact that Clinton got more votes than Trump yet he’s the president elect. Maybe if all Americans had attended the “Electoral College” and got a BSP (that would be a bull shit in politics degree) from said college, they could all run for president and all of them would win. That would be democratic: “And the final count is in. After a hard fought, often bitter, campaign by all, as predicted, every US citizen who voted for herself or himself and no one else, is now president. Congratulations!

      3. Sha'Tara Post author

        Gees Roger… that sums it up so well, you left me speechless. Chalk it up as one of your life’s great accomplishments… (OK, yes, I am blushing!)

      4. Woebegone but Hopeful

        Aww thanks Sha’Tara.
        I can’t take the credit really. It must be down to the accumulation of reading the words of wiser folk (and reading of the antics of ‘others’.
        Compassion. Respect. Tolerance. If only we could all embrace those simple words.
        Take care
        Roger

      5. Sha'Tara Post author

        Thanks, and you also. If there’s one thing all of this is “teaching” is, we (me, particularly) need to practice much more humility.

      6. Woebegone but Hopeful

        Nothing like taking a ‘pratfall’ once in a while to give oneself perspective.
        My body & mind seemed wired to allow me such a ‘blessing’ at least twice a month!

  1. polymath0

    That is terrible. No person should go hungry-ever. It is also interesting to see the link to low pay as well as delays in benefits. I don’t know about England, but I know that here minimum wage is so low that most minimum wage workers need to go to food banks. When I was young I worked 56 hours per week and didn’t have enough money to eat. I had too much pride to go to a food bank, and I simply starved. Looking back, I think that my pride was a setback. Certainly I would have done it if I had kids, but had I taken free food when I couldn’t afford it I could have saved enough to get out of poverty sooner. Nobody should go hungry, and when I think about how many people in my country who work fulltime and still can’t afford to eat it makes me even angrier.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thank you for that thoughtful reply. How does one “respond” to deliberately created hunger, especially of children; to homelessness when housing is available; to prison injustice; to war departments “losing” billions of dollars and not required to give any account while a struggling person loses everything if they can’t pay income tax? How do we respond this so obvious, so in-your-face crime by leaders, elites, and the daily richer rich? How can it be that millions, in fact billions, of people accept being openly robbed daily by the thousands of rich? Obviously “democracies” don’t work… neither do wars… or allowing the corporates to destroy our living environment. Collectives have demonstrated their own powerlessness against greed and corruption. What should ordinary people do? I have an answer that applies only to me and I’m following that. Is that how it has to be, that every individual, alone, must find her/his own answer and go with that? Waking alone, looking neither to left nor to right? It is how it is for me – now – but it is a difficult path. I think your friend in (sorry, Kenya?) would know what I mean. Thank you again for putting your paddle in these turbulent waters.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

