Hermann Hesse

… And another good quote from Herman Hesse, from Vale of Soul-Making

The Vale of Soul-Making

I have no right to call myself one who knows. I was one who seeks, and I still am, but I no longer seek in the stars or in books; I’m beginning to hear the teachings of my blood pulsing within me. My story isn’t pleasant, it’s not sweet and harmonious like the invented stories; it tastes of folly and bewilderment, of madness and dream, like the life of all people who no longer want to lie to themselves.  — Hermann Hesse, Demian. (Suhrkamp Verlag May 3, 1996) Originally published 1919.

View original post

5 thoughts on “Hermann Hesse

      1. The Grateful Dead

        And the life of all those who seek… Everyone who walks the path has gone through the disappointment of looking for answers that were already encoded.

  1. Phil Huston

    Once you hear music where there is none, voices where there are none, silence in the cacophony that surrounds you there is no going back. All you can do is live and listen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

