Their Pleasure is Starving Me

    [a poem by   ~burning woman~   ]

O, Mother, I get so tired at times,
Yes I thought you taught me well,
How to meet them, to please them,
To try to guess the different ways
They expect me to pleasure them.

O, Mother, how they take and take
And how I give and give and…
Nothing.  They give me nothing
Back, and I’m so very tired
But now I don’t know what to do.

O, my Child, I’d hoped you’d learn
Without being told, you’re a woman
And now you are food to them:
They see you and they hunger
And they’re always, always hungry.

O, Child, listen to me once again,
And pay attention this time
Before they’ve eaten your body
And nothing’s left but a husk
And a dis-embodied spirit.

O, Child, listen carefully:
They do not know how to give
It’s not in their nature although
Some may think they’re giving
When they offer you a dollar.

It’s up to you Child to feed yourself
And the only food you’ll find
Is inside them as they lay with you
As they come, and before they go:
It’s up to you to feed off them.

10 thoughts on “Their Pleasure is Starving Me

  1. Lisa R. Palmer

    The birth of a succubus? A possible alternate title? 🙂

    Interesting read, Sha’Tara! I thought it was headed one direction, and it spun off into a totally different one…

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Don’t you find it interesting that the Patriarchy feeds off women’s sexuality ceaselessly, oppressively to the point that it becomes global misogyny and the process is not only openly practiced but encouraged? But let one woman try to reverse the trend and she’s a succubus, something so evil it has to be destroyed. Yes, your title would fit if it were not so misleading.

      Reply
      1. Lisa R. Palmer

        I guess I never really considered the succubus truly evil. I always saw her as an adaptation evolved to feed off the worst of mens’ insatiable lusts; thus she was a balancer of nature and a seeker of justice…

      2. Sha'Tara Post author

        I replied using the common definition of succubus: a demon in female form who comes to men at night to feed off of their sexual energy leaving them weakened and in pain. The succubus in patriarchal religious beliefs is an evil entity, similar to a vampire. But your suggested alternative title for the poem is accurate.

  2. Sha'Tara Post author

    Women learn the hard way as they try to discover and fulfill their role within the patriarchy, as they learn to consider “normal” a status of less than and victim, more often than not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

