They were the Golden Ones

 

                   a poem, by Sha’Tara

They were the golden ones and
They stood side by side, and face to face
His right arm circled her slim waist
Her left resting firmly on his bare shoulder
Thus were they carved for history
And the sun traversed the copper skies.

Beautiful they were, oh so beautiful
The air still seemed to carry the sighs and cheers
From the gathered crowds observing in awe
The ceremony of promise and betrothal
Of the Crown Prince King to be Ramonati
And his lovely prize and princess bride Elata.

The winds of time blew over the land
The great dunes rose like ocean waves
And were worn down again and again
To reveal the golden ones once more
A headless torso teetering on one leg
An armless body collapsed by its single foot.

The powerful man makes himself stone
To remind the world of his passage
The poor man leaves but his own bones
The world never remembers his passage
And in the end what does it matter
Erosion works through stone and bone.

 

44 thoughts on “They were the Golden Ones

  1. charlypriest

    “Erosion woks though stone…”…for crying out loud is 9 a.m in the sunlight and I just woke up, so can you a be a bit more uplifting with the poems?…….aaaaaaaaaaaaa! 😉

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for the chuckle, Charly. By now you’re properly awake and maybe romping about with your lady mini Mastiff 🙂

      Reply
      1. charlypriest

        I hope latter on, as of right now i´m with the other
        lady…….. i have several,ya know!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉
        love ya and thanks for reading my crazy things
        and also reading and even more, responding
        to my little crazy comments.

  2. Dermott Hayes

    Nicely wrought poem about the superficiality of fame, celebrity, wealth, what have you? I suppose, since it’s topical, one couldn’t help but see ‘Brangelina.’

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Every age, every civilization must be “immortalized” by statues or glowing historical and mythical records of its golden ones… and every one corrupts, corrodes, collapses.

      Reply
      1. Sha'Tara Post author

        Thanks for the sharp comment. Tuk in Tank Amen might still disagree but no one would listen anymore. “The wind, the wind is blowing, Through the graves the wind is blowing, Soon we shall be free” (Leonard Cohen: The Partisan)

      1. Sha'Tara Post author

        ha-ha! On another topic, I finished reading “Arafel” by C.J. Cherryh and at the end there’s a glossary of terms and names of Celtic, Welsh, Old English lore and your name popped up: “Diarmaid” (der mit) Celtic meaning free: Dermot (only one “t” though) So now you know how your name used to be spelled!

      2. Dermott Hayes

        I was born in Strabane, Co Tyrone, where the surname McDermott is more common than the forename and is spelled with two ‘t’s. I’m well aware of my Gaelic name, since I speak the language and even that has different spelling. Mine is spelled Diarmuid.

      3. Sha'Tara Post author

        That’s great. I was born in Brittany and I “should” be able to speak my Celtic language but my parents were from the “east” or French side of the province, so no Celtic talk except for bits and pieces. I find names fascinating.

      4. Dermott Hayes

        The only reason I have two ts on my name is because of a bureaucratic error, that turned in to a lucky thing for me, in terms of bylines and getting paid. There are many guidelines between Ireland and Brittany and many books I might recommend to you, if you wish?

      5. Sha'Tara Post author

        Well, thank you. A couple perhaps, would be good. Two topics fascinate me: history and science fiction. I’m thinking this would have to do with history?

      6. Dermott Hayes

        Yes, A Social History of Ancient Ireland, Volumes 1 & 2 by P.W. Joyce provided my grounding but I then progressed to two books that are now no longer available because they were in the ancient Garlic script, An Ruraiocht and An Fianmaiocht which told the story and practises of the Red Branch Knights and the Fianna.

      7. Dermott Hayes

        Thank you, Sha’Tara for taking the time to notice the difference…the two t’s was a bureaucratic error that, in my lifetime, has worked to my advantage. but the cultural and linguistic difference between Gaelic and Anglo-Saxon is enormous.More on this in the future, I hope.

      8. Dermott Hayes

        It might be tricky but good luck with that. These volumes would have been the reference points for WB Yeats and JM Synge, among others for Celtic Irish history and social mores

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Ah, yes, well, I was listening to Antonin Dvorak’s “Requiem” when I wrote that. Could I have been influenced?

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      I guess it must have been Dvorak’s Requiem that did it! 100 plus minutes of the most beautiful music imaginable. And the singing…! Glad you noticed the bit of influence I was under, even if subconsciously.

      Reply
  3. Phil Huston

    Yep. Fifty years from now it won’t matter how big a house you built, or oil you pumped, or lives you saved. If you wrote a poem or a book or a song that moved someone? That might stick for a while. Byron an still around Beethoven are still around, and that Shakespeare guy. Hell, “She Loves You yeah yeah yeah” is over 50! The rest of us, dust in the wind.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Yes…
      Dust in the Wind — Kansas

      I close my eyes
      Only for a moment, then the moment’s gone
      All my dreams
      Pass before my eyes, a curiosity
      Dust in the wind
      All they are is dust in the wind
      Same old song
      Just a drop of water in an endless sea
      All we do
      Crumbles to the ground, though we refuse to see
      Dust in the wind
      All we are is dust in the wind,
      Now, don’t hang on
      Nothing lasts forever but the earth and sky
      It slips away
      And all your money won’t another minute buy
      Dust in the wind
      All we are is dust in the wind
      All we are is dust in the wind Dust in the wind
      Everything is dust in the wind

      Reply
  4. Sha'Tara Post author

    The deepest of Earthian emotions… Until we have had enough of the pointlessness of it and we decide to change ourselves: no more love and no more hatred, for one feeds the other always. That’s what John Lennon missed when he wrote “Imagine” — “Imagine a world without love, filled with compassion instead.”

    Reply
  5. Regis Auffray

    I really do not have anything to add to what has already been stated by others before me (some eloquently, other in witty fashion…) …I agree, everything in this world/life is ephemeral. Mind you, that being expressed, it in no way gladdens my heart. Nicely expressed poem.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thank you for leaving a thoughtful comment. Some thoughts come, designed to be contemplated sitting in a graveyard, as William Blake might have observed.

      Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thank you for the comment Damyanti, glad you liked the poem, and this could mean we’ve reconnected. I’ve re-subscribed to your blog again – let’s see what happens.

      Reply
      1. Damyanti Biswas

        Thanks. If you subscribe via email, it should send the posts to your inbox. I don’t write too many posts, so they come all that often. I really appreciate your interest, and your insights on the posts at my blog.

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks Lana. I use these topics as a reminder when life gets… hmmm, tense! that we exist in a permanent state of impermanence… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

