Angel Anger

[poem by   ~burning woman~   ]

I remember when we first met
When we first meant something
In the world together.

Angel you called me.
My angel, my beautiful, simple angel
And your arm curled warmly
Around my slim waist.
Your lips found my smile and ate it.

I wondered under a small cloud:
Would you get tired of simple me
When my pretty became boring?
But the love was good, the bed warm.
We walked more miles together

(until)

I became slow, stupid and boring.
I became a leech ruining your life.
Now you abuse me, suppress me,
You crush my dreams, suck my life,

(but)

I’m the angel you crowned,
Danced with, loved, married.

Deny me, yes: it changes nought.
I’m still your angel, but of changed mien:
Angry, avenging, terrible.
Yesterday I was the angel of love,
Tonight, I’m the angel of terror
Responding to your choices.  

23 thoughts on “Angel Anger

  1. Regis Auffray

    Powerfully expressive and meaningful… …and, in my opinion, universally applicable.

    I know I can relate this to more than one of my relationships.

    Thank you for sharing, Sha’Tara.

    Régis

    From: ~Burning Woman~ Sent: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 7:16 PM To: rauffray@shaw.ca Subject: [New post] Angel Anger

    Sha’Tara posted: “[poem by ~burning woman~ ] I remember when we first met When we first meant something In the world together. Angel you called me. My angel, my beautiful, simple angel And your arm curled warmly Around my slim waist. Your lips found my smile and ate”

    Reply
  2. Woebegone but Hopeful

    This very lyrical tale brings in all those time-honoured images and stages; the opening with its sun-light and optimistic innocence, then the gradual corrosion of hope and love, and the fearful metamorphosis.
    Good art!

    Reply
  3. Phil Huston

    Your lips found my smile and ate it

    I wondered under a small cloud:
    Would you get tired of simple me
    When my pretty became boring?

    But the love was good, the bed warm.
    We walked more miles together

    Great lines. Completely realized. Thanks.

    Reply
      1. L. T. Garvin, Author

        That’s right. My name is Lana, L.T. Garvin is my mysterious pen name, lol. Actually it is a blending of my two grandmothers’ names. They were quite special to me. You are very welcome. Happy writing!

  4. We come from dreams ~

    Angels neither marry nor are given in marriage.

    ………………….lovely!

    Ceannt

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Yes Ceannt, but if the angels are “the sons of god” they can still fuck, according to Genesis, and marry if they want to and make babies as long as they fuck Earthian women, that is. This might indicate that angels are clones, or hybrids and can’t reproduce among themselves. Makes one wonder, doesn’t it. Fun stuff, history.

      Reply
      1. We come from dreams ~

        We have a few here. They’re like very pleasant infants. Forget stuff like Chris Walkens’ Gabriel in “The Prophecy.” Only in the movies. A couple of them had sex over the long millennia, they seem to have take it or leave it attitude about it all. Our best guess is that they appeared a few million years before we did, and are a lot simpler than us.

        Ceannr

      2. Sha'Tara Post author

        I guess the other drawback is, they can’t evolve, or change their nature. Maybe they lack the mind part.

      3. We come from dreams ~

        Well, I didn’t wanna say that! They’re not stupid, they’re…..just not human. Early on, Roy had the sense that, for an entity which apparently is eternal, they don’t take notice of us all that much. And, given that “time sense,” what are we to them? Fleas? At least they were congenial, – and have tried to understand humanity, although except in the most general sense, we’re not like other humans. One of them promised to protect us, and that promise has been kept so far, but no-one, nothing is invincible. And, no; they DON’T evolve, not in any sense. Perhaps they are the result of an AI program, millions of years ago. None of them have a memory of a beginning, they all claim, “We always were.” If that’s so, we have some ethereal Terminators on our side. And like Ahnuld (in T2), they have promised never to take a human life.

      4. Sha'Tara Post author

        Whatever they be, and whatever “promises” they made, or programming they operate under, in my world they are servants of the Time Lords and as such, Matrix agents. But thanks for the additional info. We live not only in interesting times, but in a very interesting closed system.

Leave a Reply

