Some New Pictures from the Hope and Fraser Rivers – July 24th and 26th

Many years ago, a client who then owned a small second hand store here in Chilliwack gave me a used Powershot (Canon) camera for some work I’d done she was thankful for beyond what I charged.  The camera served me well for many years but finally broke down a couple of months ago.  I sadly had it recycled and decided it was time to upgrade to a new Powershot.  A model SX 720 HS – a pretty impressive little camera for the non-professional.  Now I get to take pretty decent pictures of wildlife and macro shots of plants, flowers and insects.

The following pictures are some results of my efforts in learning how to manipulate this little computer.  It’s got a 40X  optical zoom lens, plus very good digitally enhanced zoom up to 160X.  Enjoy.    (PS: if any of these pictures interest you and you want to use them for whatever purpose, please feel free to do so – all permission granted… 🙂 )

IMG_0166e

Blue Heron on the Hope River

IMG_0159e

Daytime moon

IMG_0183e

Blue Heron on an arm of the Fraser River about 100X zoom shot

IMG_0172e

Water plaintain(?) – Hope River

IMG_0194-fem mallard

Female Mallard enjoying the sun

IMG_0213

Fraser River back waters starting their summer drop

IMG_0224

Pearly everlastings – Fraser river banks

IMG_0218

Thistles – Fraser River

IMG_0231

Some colourful Fraser river gravel bar rocks and a piece of driftwood

IMG_0232

Yeah! The gulls are returning again. Flight of California gulls returning to their winter feeding grounds on the River

IMG_0235

The Fraser river in full regalia and summer glory!

IMG_0236

Two smiling young mallards swimming along but ever watchful

IMG_0239

Blue damselfly on a blade of grass – Hope river shallows

IMG_0241

Skittish solitary or spotted sandpiper on the Hope river

IMG_0250

Immature rufous hummingbird on a honeysuckle branch

IMG_0256

Red dragonfly – I wanted to emphasize the beauty of her wings

IMG_0258

A spider web in an Alberta spruce: this spider’s on crack!

IMG_0161

A Western crow on a distant snag giving me the eye

IMG_0164e

The red barn – on the little Hope river

 

23 thoughts on “Some New Pictures from the Hope and Fraser Rivers – July 24th and 26th

    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      I hadn’t thought of it that way, but I see that now. Thank you for bringing it to my attention; it gives the process a much broader outlook.

      Reply
  1. paulabroome427

    Absolutely beautiful and artistic. I’m hard put to say which one I like the most. It’s impossible. I thought the heron, then the white gulls against the blue sky, then no the mallards, then no the hummingbird, and then the picture of the red barn…OMG! Very very good. Thank you. And keep taking pictures!

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thank you for the appreciation. And your winter cardinal is beautiful, an evocative image. I may have more to comment on your colour post. Some interesting thoughts there, and the last question, a good challenge…

      Reply
  2. Regis Auffray

    Great photos, Sha’Tara.

    A camera (lens) can sure make a difference.

    Thank you for sharing.

    From: ~Burning Woman~ Sent: Thursday, July 28, 2016 11:54 PM To: rauffray@shaw.ca Subject: [New post] Some New Pictures from the Hope and Fraser Rivers – July 24th and 26th

    Sha’Tara posted: “Many years ago, a client who then owned a small second hand store here in Chilliwack gave me a used Powershot (Canon) camera for some work I’d done she was thankful for beyond what I charged. The camera served me well for many years but finally broke dow”

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for the comment, and yes, a lens is the heart of a camera. I think I may have lucked out on that camera. Lots yet to learn about features but as I click through the choices they begin to make more and more sense. The trick is to click away and study the results. The reviewing screen is fabulous.

      Reply
  3. Rosaliene Bacchus

    Each photo is a gem, Sha’Tara! I paused the longest on the colorful Fraser River gravel, reflecting on the ways we’re ground, rounded, and smoothed on our journey through life.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for the “lesson” Rosaliene. It’s true enough, though some get a lot more “grounding” than others, eh?

      Reply
  4. Fijay

    Wonderful photo’s ShaTara …..wouldn’t like to meet the spider on crack tho ….with a web like that I dread to think:D:D:D

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      You just never know with spiders. Personally I think he’d been to the Dem. Nat. Convention and all the double talk got his neurons scrambled. I know mine would have been fried… if I did politics and if I were an American. Hey, wait, I am an American: a Canadian American. Maybe I should have been down there to give Sanders a piece of my mind, no, I mean a good booing! But back to that spider, I was going to say… dang blast it, I forgot. How’s the cleanse diet going? 🙂

      Reply
      1. Fijay

        Ha ha ShaTara ……yep the socio/political climate we find ourselves in Is indeed akin to a very large tangled web:D:D:D
        And yep …have completed my epic ‘cleanse’ …hmmmmm think I’ll evaluate later if I get time.
        Can’t say have been miraculously transformed into some kind of serene and radiant beauty or anything:D:D ….we are what we are:D:D

  5. We come from dreams ~

    Hoooo! Beauty makes me weep for joy! Roy and Ceannt also! We’re bawling like babies right now. Sara Jane

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for your appreciation. Location is Chilliwack, B.C., Canada, south west corner of the country, on the Fraser river.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

