The Goal on the Horizon

[thoughts from  ~burning woman~  by Sha’Tara]

A long, short time ago, when religion still claimed my soul and clung desperately to my Sunday ramblings, I didn’t have to wonder what I’d be thinking about.  I’d go to church, talk with a few people and listen to the sermon.  Sermon: some lofty title for the pathetic offerings from the elevated platform.  Still, with a great deal of effort I’d often find something of value to ruminate on, even if I had to add it in myself.  Either that, or I’d have to admit I was wasting my time as if I had all the time in the world.  And besides, there are many other ways to waste one’s life when one hasn’t yet discovered that life is a gift and is not only worth living, but to waste it is sacrilegious.

So this morning, being Sunday, and seeing as I’m free now to be me, not some clone of a System maintaining an obsolete view of the world, and after having a thoughtful look outside at the greenery and the heavy dark grey cloud announcing another possible day of cold rain, I’ve decided it was time to go for a long walk.

I’m going to set out now, and walk to that place where the earth’s curvature makes things disappear on the horizon.  When I reach that horizon, I’m going to drive a post at that point, to mark it.  That way, when I look again next time, I’ll know just how far that point is.  And I’ll be reminded that I’d been there. 

“The Road Goes Ever On” wrote Mr. Tolkien.  A truism, certainly, but only true for those who travel that road, isn’t that so?  A road may well go ever on, but of what value is that to the one who won’t get on it and walk it?  “The Longest Journey Begins With A Single Step” is another worn out quote.  But if that first step isn’t taken?  I’ve often pondered the concept of that first step.  Easy enough to take, I suppose.  When there’s no goal, that first step will amount to nothing in the end, just a circular path around one’s little holding.  That’s not a journey, at best it’s exercise on a treadmill.

Returning to my initial quest: to walk to the horizon.  Silly, right?  You could walk forever and still the horizon would remain to taunt and haunt.  I could put that post in the ground anywhere, and it would always, or never, be on the horizon. 

What’s my point?  Simple.  I need a goal to set out on the endless journey.  It doesn’t have to involve saving the world (from itself? How preposterous!); it only needs to be a goal suitable to the quest; a goal that will continue to fuel and motivate the quest. 

I used to think; I was convinced; that a life properly lived was a life whose motive was to do something “great” as compared to the rest of the world.  Something that would set me apart from the rank and file.  Ideally something that would leave a deep and great “mark” upon the fabric of society; something that would benefit millions, perhaps.  When we are entering adult life, how many of us dream of becoming super heroes?  Of living the greatest life ever?  Many, I’d say, even if they never come right out and tell anyone.  The dream is there, to be shortly filed, erased, shattered, by what the world likes to call reality. 

Let’s use another overused quote: “There’s A Pot Of Gold At The End Of The Rainbow.”  When I was young, I knew this was true.  There was a pot of gold at the foot of the rainbow.  At seventy years now, I know this is still as true now as it was then.  The earth is full of real treasures, the ones you cannot find with backpacks, cameras, shovels, axes, and any sort of assorted machinery and technology.  What is observed with the eyes, what can be touched or smelled, what is felled, what is ploughed, what is pumped and dragged out of the ground: those aren’t treasures.  What can be displayed, piled, counted and sold: those are spoils, not treasures.

A treasure is by its very nature unattainable but sought with all of one’s power.  That post I planted at the edge of the earth’s curvature this morning has a treasure under it.  I know this because I sensed it.  I heard it calling to me.  And I was able to answer in the same language. 

I’ll let you in on a secret regarding the endless road, the endless journey, the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow: the treasure you began seeking when you were born, and subconsciously if not openly continue to seek, is you. 

To properly close, another overused quote: “To Thine Own Self Be True.”  

18 thoughts on “The Goal on the Horizon

  1. We come from dreams ~

    After reading this we felt as if we had just prayed the most meaningful prayer EVAR. (Huh?) Well……prayer for us is giving thanks, as in, ‘Thank you! Sha’Tara!’

    Reply
    1. We come from dreams ~

      Umm, hopefully to Sha’Tara’s comment first ~

      Twas meant as a compliment, we respect very few people on the Internet because someone always tries to start arguments with us, at least that’s been the case until now. I think the first thing that I noticed was that you’ve consistently treated us with respect, despite the fact that your life / world is glaringly different than ours. One of our social ideals is that YOU may believe what ever you want, just don’t insist that we be like you. You haven’t. Thank you!

      Should this show up as a reply to Phil Huston, that’s fine. Generally we don’t comment on others’ posts here, but yours is poetry as I know it – makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. And thank you as well!

      Reply
      1. Sha'Tara Post author

        It would be an unconscionable breach of trust, according to the stated goals of this blog, to argue or display a lack of respect to anyone commenting here. Even a “troll” would soon realize the pointlessness of it in that I doubt anyone would respond – water on a duck’s back. Strong opinions and “out there” concepts are expressed here – that’s what this is for – and that may raise strong counter opinions, and hopefully good discussion. This is for open minded people and when no offence is intended, no offence is taken. Onward and forward! 🙂

  2. Hargun Wahi

    True that..we should be true to ourselves. But it is always a long journey, until one understands the treasures hidden inside oneself. And of course, one needs to keep looking!

    Reply
    1. Jasmin Horst

      Hargun Wahi said it well, the hidden treasure within oneself, be thankful of them, they are yours, share them if you want, but be thankful, the great being is within you, and all of us

      Reply
    2. Sha'Tara Post author

      In my understanding, the quest for self-awareness, self-understanding, never ends because with each discovery we change and are forever “becoming.” They call us human “beings” but a better approach would be, not being, but becomings.

      Reply
  3. Phil Huston

    “the treasure you began seeking when you were born, and subconsciously if not openly continue to seek, is you.” Another good one.

    All of the parallel lives we lead, the religions, the vocations, playing with the extremes of who we are as damaged, undamaged, artistictic, avaricious, holistic are all simple points that intersect the line that is us, that goes on from whenever to forever and forges who we are, who we might become beyond the tangible.

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Thanks for that comment. If we could experience and express all the “crazy” stuff we are and get into without hurting, or causing any harm to others, wouldn’t it be incredible? If the “evil” that is done could be done without causing harm? If we could be whatever we choose and never be a threat to anyone else, or never able to impose our reality on others? Interesting “ifs” to ponder and wonder at.

      Reply
  4. Sha'Tara Post author

    Hargun Wahi 2016-05-30 at 15:37
    “Indeed, that’s how it is. We are forever improving.. And evolving”

    I’d put a word of caution here, Hargun, if I may: I wrote “becoming” That’s not the same as improving, or evolving. As a species, from observation today, man is NOT improving at all. There is growing conflict, resurgence in outright slavery, particularly involving young children in mines and young girls as prostitutes. There is blatant corruption in all aspects of power: politics, religion, and certainly in corporations and banking. There is ardent denial that man is causing irreparable harm to the natural environment. We see more and more hedonism. Yet all this qualifies as change, hence man is “becoming” always. To “improve” requires self-discipline and a powerful desire to be, not just all that we can be, but “more than we believe we can be.” It means to look at the world and pull our self out of the rut of commonality and say, not me. I’m not staying there. I’ll fight and I’ll cause the change needed to survive this passage.

    As to the concept of “evolution” well, that’s simply an overused, seldom analysed view of the cosmos, powerfully pushed as a counter-force to organized religion. I question evolution as a valid scientific concept though I can see adaptation as a means of survival of species. The invention of the concept of evolution had more to do with countering the idea that the cosmos was created by some all-powerful deity than with actual science. A few quick observations taken completely out of context constituted the basis of that idea. Then it spread like wildfire because it was a new tool with which to attack the stranglehold religion had on education and government.

    Thought I should explain the difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

