My Thoughts and I – a poem

I have discovered that many bloggers like to communicate with poetry.  Now, I need to admit, here and now, that I’m definitely “poetry challenged” and most poems just zoom right over my head without even experiencing a down draft.  Oh, hey, it’s not for lack of trying, but if you’re left handed, there isn’t much you can do with that clumsy right hand.  So I’m a left brain poetry reader and I don’t think the left brain was ever designed for that.  Be that as it may, I thought I’d throw something in the pot, seeing as it’s a long weekend here and all… 

Trigger Warning:  not issue oriented, and contains no conspiracies.

My Thoughts and I, a poem

In a wild field I see flowers and a butterfly
And in my mind, many thoughts flutter by.
Some of those thoughts make me cry,
And of those I don’t need to ask why.
Then there are those that make me high
Not of a drug high but of a sky high.
There were some I could shape into a lie
And finally, the very last one, made me sigh.
In the grass we slept in peace, my thoughts and I.

(Whew… thank whomever, whatever, that’s done!)

20 thoughts on “My Thoughts and I – a poem

  1. Sha'Tara Post author

    Perfection, huh? Hmmm, perfection is an absolute value. I dunno, but under the circumstances, I’ll defer to your choice… 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hargun Wahi

    High five Sha’Tara… Poetry does that to me sometimes too. Poetry challenged is the word😜
    And I loved that short poem if yours, really 🙂
    Happy weekend ahead!

    Reply
  3. Rosaliene Bacchus

    Sha’Tara, I’ve found that some thoughts can only be expressed in poetic form. Thanks for your contribution to the poetic pot. At times, being at peace with my thoughts can be quite challenging as for far too many of them “make me cry.”

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Yes, those of us who walk with eyes open discover this is a difficult landscape to maneuver and many thoughts are dark. One think I’ve learned about tears: it is better to shed them over the plight of others than our own. I don’t know if that is a wise, pathetic or selfish statement, but it’s true.

      Reply
  4. Fijay

    That’s actually beautiful ShaTara ….better than my ridiculous Dr Seuss type offerings …I LOVE reading poetry tho don’t you? ….you should write more lady:):):):)

    Reply
    1. Sha'Tara Post author

      Are you putting me on the spot, Fijay? No, sorry, but I don’t love reading poetry. I used to think, when being forced to study the stuff in high school that poetry was invented by sadists who wanted us to struggle to find meaning to lines that had no meaning. Then I discovered they had meaning, so I revised my thinking about poets, from sadists who wanted us to sweat out their meaningless jargon to sadists who didn’t want us to ever comprehend what they were saying. I was learning the finer points of English at the time and poetry, particularly of the Romantic, Shakespearian and older age made me want to engage war with my grammar Nazis English teachers. Not terribly surprising, I failed English, not because I didn’t know how to speak it, write it and use it, but all because of people who actually misspelled and misused it to their own nefarious ends… i.e., “recognized” poets. 🙂 I am thankful though, because as a result of this “failure” I was spared more years of voluntary incarceration.

      Reply
      1. Fijay

        :D:D:D …Oh ShaTara you’ve set me up for the day …brought a tear to my eye laughing ….imagining you studying poetry and going ‘Meh!!!???’:D:D:D
        I too never really ‘got’ poetry untill recently and thought ‘hmmmmm ….will have a go’
        Well my blogs my blog I can write whatever right? …..thing is …when I read it back it’s terrible but hey ho:D:D:D

Leave a Reply

