I Yearn to find a Land so Free – a poem

 

I realize now, they should never allow me to stay near a computer this long: that keyboard is mesmerizing… well, keep on posting then…

I Yearn to find a Land so Free
  [ ~a poem by   ~burning woman~  ]

I yearn to find a land so free,
Where no one need ever fear
From animals or man, thee, or me.

I yearn to see the trees in bloom
Each with a nest in its branches
From which birds sing, no fear of doom.

I yearn to lie on grasses soft
Lulled by waters pure and sweet
Gentle winds holding clouds aloft.

I yearn to see the sun slowly setting
To happy laughter and songs of joy
In the east an orange moon rising.

I yearn to watch a spreading gloaming
Across sweet-scented hay meadows
And on a butte the killdeer piping.

I yearn for the night to claim my bones
Giving me rest in simple dreams,
My name spelled on a gravestone.

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Yearn to find a Land so Free – a poem

  1. Regis Auffray

    Truly poetic verses, Sha’Tara.

    I love the images… …the flow as well which the rhyme sequence seems to bring out.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Regis

    Reply

Leave a Reply

